Unravel Day One

What a bloody wonderful day it has been! I am absolutely exhausted and we have to go back and do it all again tomorrow.

While I can still think straight, a quick post.

Here’s what my half of the stand looks like all freshly set up:

2013-02-22_18-30-55_265 All pristine loveliness and colour, so tidy and neat and untouched.

It no longer looks like that of course, after a day of predation by bag hungry fibre folk!

Here’s a few more glory shots of the shinies I had out today:

2013-02-22_18-41-19_125 2013-02-22_18-41-42_796 2013-02-22_18-41-52_562

Hanging the bags like this on the wall really made a difference to my display and I think to my sales. It seemed to draw things up into peoples’ eyeline so they really noticed what I had on the stall. And it was fun putting the string up and dangling things semi-artisitically. (Huge thanks to the lovely lady from Bigwigs Angora who let me use her string and scissors! Absolute lifesaver and if you’re coming to the show tomorrow you MUST come and stroke her beautiful cakes of yarn. Incredibly soft and such beautiful natural colours.)

I didn’t manage to escape the stall at all until after 4 this afternoon when Amy and Anna drove me out with exhortations to go and look at pretty things for a bit. Sadly I didn’t have my camera with me because I am always too tired to remember that photos of yarn and lovely yarn related objects are a good thing on a blog about knitting.

But there is SO MUCH to see this year. SO MUCH. It’s insane that there is so much beauty and creativity gathered in one venue. All the most wonderfully soft strokable beautiful yarn, loads of tools and more amazingly inventive patterns than you could point a pair of pointy sticks at. So much inspiration for us as knitters, crocheters, spinners…

I finally made it into the Great Hall this year too. Four years of attending this show and this is the first year I’ve managed to actually find my way in there and look at things.

I didn’t manage to take any pictures at the show but I did fall prey to temptation and I’ve taken a couple of photos of my purchases. In my defense, Friday was my birthday and I’m telling myself that this is me buying myself something I really will love for my birthday!

Sooo:

2013-02-23_21-11-08_13 2013-02-23_21-12-42_743

Two glorious skeins of Sparkleduck yarn. The purple one is for a shawl, the self striping is for socks. The last skein of self striping I bought, I managed to get two pairs of socks out of and I’m really looking forward to knitting this up. Heather is such a lovely person and she dyes the most amazing purples.

My other purchase was from one of the other stall holders in our room, Natural Creations.

2013-02-23_21-09-33_116 2013-02-23_21-09-50_511 2013-02-23_21-10-10_427

It’s a yarn bowl. I’ve been looking for one for a while, considering a few I’ve seen on Folksy but these were right there in front of me, tempting me all day and I just couldn’t resist. They’re absolutely stunning. There were only a few left by the end of the day and I can understand why. The shape and colour, so tactile and I am so looking forward to using this.

I had such a happy day. Two things totally made my day: hugs with so many lovely people I haven’t seen in ages. So good to see you all, most definitely my favourite thing about doing shows is seeing your faces and finding out how you are and what’s been happening in your lives. I talk to most of you on Twitter all the time, but it’s just so lovely to actually be in the same place and talk.

And the other thing that left me glowing was seeing a couple of lovely ladies I sold bags to last year who came back, bought new bags and told me how much they used and loved the bags I sold them last time. Honestly, ladies, you have no idea how much that meant to me. I’ve been having a rough patch creatively – just tiredness from all the work getting ready for the show combined with not being able to work in as focused and dedicated a way as I’d like – so to hear that feedback gave me a much needed lift.

I can’t WAIT to see what the second day of Unravel will bring.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Unravel

2 responses to “Unravel Day One

  1. Chris

    Well done on arranging an inviting stand to display your fantastic bags. I believe I was your first customer this morning and I bought a pattern hder and small project bag, I’m thrilled with both and they are my favourite purchase. I’m also so happy with the shawl kit I bought from the other part of the stall, I can’t wait to cast on. Good luck for tomorrow! Chris

    • Hi Chris! You were indeed my first customer this morning and you DID bring me luck 🙂 We had such a lovely day. I’m so glad you love your purchases – I love to see how excited people get over the fabrics and it’s so nice to be able to make people happy! I cannot WAIT for tomorrow, looking forward to meeting more lovely people. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your day!

Leave a Reply

